Getting Back on Track

Hey there! Hope you’re 2013 is going well. I’ve started off the year doing some good stuff for my mind- cleaning and reading!

The closet floor in my bedroom had become a resting ground for anything and everything that I want hidden or out of the way in the 2 1/2 years I’ve been at my apartment. I know there were a million shoes in there that I didn’t even remember. I’ve been wanting to clean it out for ever, so I decided that New Year’s Day was the day to do it.

Aaahhhh!!

2013-01-01_08-31-13_412

2013-01-01_08-31-32_727

What is all that junk? Oi.

I spent about an hour taking everything out of the closet and placing it in to the “Keep” pile or the “Trash” pile. Some things went back and forth between piles, but I really tried to get rid of clothes/junk that I didn’t need.

These are all bags from my closet that I decided I don’t need anymore and they’re all FILLED with junk that was in the closet too! Holy moly!

2013-01-01_13-59-13_728

And now, my closet looks pretty good!

2013-01-01_13-58-53_329

2013-01-01_13-58-46_214

My scarves are somewhat in order (I brought in about 20 to give away at work) and you can actually see the carpet now! Who knew there was carpet in the closet? Haha.

I attempted to make my bed too, but someone wouldn’t move. 🙂

2013-01-01_10-45-42_641 (767x1024)

I love reading and haven’t gotten to do as much of it as I’ve liked in the past few months, but I’ve made up for it in the past couple of weeks.

My friend lent me a cute book, Homer’s Odyssesy: A Fearless Feline Tale, or How I Learned About Love and Life with a Blind Wonder Cat, by Gwen Cooper. The book was great; it had me laughing out loud and then a few chapters later, crying. Definitely the lesson to learn from the little blind cat, Homer, is not to be scared of life and “see” the possibility in everything.

(image source)

Over the weekend I downloaded three books on my Kindle. They were all only $3.99 each- I love a bargain!

I read Hopeless, by Colleen Hoover, in about 24 hours. It’s a romance, but it was intense and had a bunch of twists and turns, so I couldn’t put it down.

(image source)

Last night I started reading The Perks of Being a Wallflower, by Stephen Chbosky. It’s one of those classic books that I never had a chance to read. I saw the movie about a month ago and it was incredible-so well acted and inspiring. I knew I had to read the book. The story is cool because it’s written in notes from the main character, Charlie, to an anonymous person he just calls “friend.” I haven’t even finished it, but I already recommend it AND the movie!

(image source)

Next on the docket, The Great Gatsby. 🙂

Food
Over the past couple of months I’ve gained about three pounds. Sounds small, right? But, I can TELL. My clothes are a little more snug and I just don’t feel as good about myself.

To take control of the situation, I bought some seriously healthy eats at Whole Foods.

2013-01-06_18-46-20_200

2013-01-06_19-00-42_511

When I got home from WF Sunday night, I immediately cut up all the veggies, so that I can just “grab and go” for my lunches for the week. I also bought sliced up cheese and crackers, so I can make sure to have some protein snacks while I’m at work too. It wasn’t even too expensive to buy the cheese all cut up and it’s quick and easy.

Food isn’t the only problem though…I’ve been seriously slacking in the workout department. I’m just so tired all the time. Yuck. Well tonight I’m going to Bikram Yoga and I’m trying to make plans to work out with my friend Sam again. Workout buddies are the best!

Have you done any major cleaning lately? Read any good books! Let me know!

Leave a Reply

