Groupons are Great

Good morning! Wow, I’ve been gone for two weeks- phooey. Both of my jobs have been super busy, so when I get home finally, all I want to do is veg on the couch with my Kindle or The Voice.

Even with all the working, I’ve been having a lot of fun this month and I have recipes to share with you later in the week. How does Taco Stew and Apple Crisp sound? Not together, of course 😉

What I want to tell you today is how awesome Groupon.com is. Have any of you ever used it? The site (and many other’s like it) is very popular, but I keep talking to people who still don’t know what it is.

Basically, Groupon offers really great deals and coupons for local attractions, restaurants, services and products because so many people will buy the deal that the provider still makes money. Here are three Groupons I’ve bought in the past month for the Boston area:

  • $12 for $24 worth of frozen yogurt at a frozen yogurt shop down the street from me. I’m obsessed with it!
  • 6 month gym membership to a gym down the street for only $89 (it’s normally $45 a month!)
  • 10 class pass to a Bikram Yoga studio (my friend bought it too, so we can go together)

Then I also bought two more from a similar site, LivingSocial.com:

  • 10 Zumba classes for $35
  • $30 for a Shellac mani/pedi

Are these awesome deals or what? I’ve used these sites for my hair cuts and color, oil changes, dinners, brewery tours and so much else.

If you’ve never checked out these sites, I highly recommend you do so!

Bikram Yoga

Last night I cashed in one of the above mentioned Groupons- Bikram Yoga! My friend couldn’t make it, but I decided to go anyway. Some of my friends have done Bikram before and told me everything to bring: yoga mat, big towel (for the mat), small towel (for me), lots of water and a coconut water for after the class.

Here’s all my stuff in the morning. I wanted to wear a cool outfit since I knew the studio would be HOT.

Purple overload! Haha.

On the way to the studio, I stopped and got some water and coconut water. Everything fit well in to my cute Steph C. bag, which was part of my bridesmaid gift for being in Kara’s wedding.

I love the “curlz” font 🙂

The Groupon is for a studio in Westborough, MA  called Bikram Yoga Westboro (they also have a location in Auburn). I was totally nervous to go last night because everyone had told me that Bikram was really intense because of the heat. Turns out the room is heated to 105 degrees! Whoa!

The class ended up being awesome. A lot of the poses were new to me, but some of them I had done in my Jillian Michaels Yoga Meltdown DVD. I was embarrassed at first when I couldn’t do some of the poses really well, but then I was just like “f-it” and modified the best I could.

An hour in and I did start to feel dehydrated, so I definitely need to drink more water before I go to class next time. I can’t wait to go back next week!

After class:

Not too flattering, but you can see how red I was. My car actually fogged up, so I had to wait a few minutes before I could drive home. Haha.

I promise I’ll be back again this week with at least one recipe and some other fun things.

Have a great day!

One thought on “Groupons are Great

  1. Pingback: Beer and Apple Crisp: Possibly the Best Combo Ever. « PJs and Yoga Pants

Leave a Reply

