Time Management

Hi Everyone!

What have you all been up to? I’ve been trying to take advantage of any time I have at home; I’ve been cooking, baking, reading, de-stressing and working out. I’m feeling pretty good these days 🙂

I’ve been working a lot and making extra money. Most of it I’m putting towards bills and other expenses, but I want to make sure I’m taking care of myself as well. So on Tuesday night, I went and got a massage at a place called LaRose Muscular Therapy in Westborough, MA. It’s only about 15 minutes from my work and my boss recommended it. I had wanted to take a few pictures, but I got stuck in traffic and had to hurry in.

Isn’t the feeling after a massage the best feeling ever? Oh man, I was in heaven.I told the massage therapist to focus on my neck and shoulders because that’s where I’m holding all my stress.

https://pjsandyogapants.files.wordpress.com/2012/09/cat2bmassage2b1.jpg?w=300

(source)

I was practically asleep at the wheel on the drive home and slept soooo well that night. I really want to make massages a normal part of my routine.

Last Friday, I went and got my hair done. Finally! I had a Living Social deal for $65 for a cut, partial foil, hot oil treatment and blowdry. Awesome deal or what? Finished product!

I always get my hair blown out straight when I get a cut because I can’t do it on my own. Notice my awesome New England Patriots tee? Favorite team!

I’ve also used some of my extra money to buy some really good, healthy groceries. Monday night I made an awesome veggie and cheese quesedilla. I’ve never made one, but have always wanted to!

Quesedilla: Trader Joe’s whole grain plus flax tortilla, light Mexican blend shredded cheese, avocado, green peppers, onions, mushrooms and topped with fresh salsa. I also had this with a Blue Moon Summer Honey Wheat- I have two left and I’m going to savor them!

Delicious meal!

Last night was also a new meal for me: I baked a chicken leg. Random, I know, but I only ever buy the chicken breasts. My boss gave me the leg (along with an awesome steak) last week from her Meat CSA (community sourced agriculture). Upon her recommendation, I took the skin off, seasoned it with some rub and then finished it off with some BBQ sauce. I also baked two sweet potatoes; one for dinner and one for lunch today.

I don’t know why the potato looked like a butterfly? Haha. I put some butter and cinnamon on it. Yum! The chicken was delicious. If you’re wondering why the chicken looks all sliced up, it’s because I had no idea how long it would take to cook and had to keep cutting in to it to check. I think it took about 35-40 minutes.

I had it with a glass, or two, of one of my favorite wines: Jam Jar. It’s sooooo delicious. It’s a sweet shiraz, but not as light as a riesling or moscato. I think this is a good starter red…or if you’re like me, just an awesome red for anytime. LOL It’s hard to find, so if you see it, I highly suggest you pick up a bottle. It’s only around $12.

I’ve been fitting in some workouts too! A miracle, right? On Tuesday and Wednesday, I did a different Jillian Michael’s DVD. On Tuesday morning I did the 30 Day Shred and yesterday I did No More Trouble Zones. No More Trouble Zones left me feeling pretty sore today because she incorporated weights the whole time. Not off and on, like in the 30 Day Shred.

Last Saturday at the restaurant, one of the servers asked if workout. I was caught off guard, but said yes. Since I do, sometimes! She said, “I can tell because of all the muscles in your arms. You look very defined.” Well, I just about jumped up and down with happiness. Someone actually noticed my small muscles and thought I worked out. This is definitely the first time in my life that someone asked me that or noticed my muscles.

A comment like that is very good motivation to keep working on myself and fitness 🙂

Lastly, I managed to fit in a another baking session this week. Since I made some sinful treats last week, I decided to change it up and make something healthy. I found this recipe on Pinterest and can’t wait to try some variations of it. Facebook was the perfect place to post a teaser picture. If you don’t follow me on Facebook yet, please do! Click the link in the box on the right 🙂

What did I make?…

 

Banana Oat Breakfast Cookies

(from Watching What I Eat)

Makes 16 cookies

1 1/2 c. oatmeal, quick or old fashioned

2 ripe bananas (three are in the pic, but one was for me to eat)

1 c. unsweetened applesauce*

1/3 c. raisins

1/4 c. chopped walnuts

1 tsp.  vanilla extract

1 tsp. cinnamon

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Mix vanilla and cinnamon into the applesauce then blend the applesauce with all the other ingredients and let it sit for 10 minutes.

Drop cookie dough, by spoonfuls, on to parchment paper lined cookie sheets and flatten cookies in to rounds. Bake for 30-35 minutes or until golden and done.

Remove from oven and let rest on the cookie sheet for 5 minutes, then move to the cooking rack. Store in a covered container when completely cool.

*Note: When unsweetened applesauce is needed for a recipe, I used to buy the big jar of it because it was cheaper. I usually was never able to use of the whole jar within the 10 days it can be opened and had to throw it away. Now I buy the single serving sizes for baking. They’re not much more money and I don’t end up wasting any. If you think you’ll use the whole jar though, feel free!

These cookies are awesome! Naturally sweet and absolutely a perfect breakfast, smothered with peanut butter.

Breakfast yesterday. The peanut butter, that didn’t fit on the cookies, went straight in to my mouth. Hee hee.

So even though I haven’t been posting as much as I like too, I think I’m managing my time pretty well. I have lots to blog about. I’m hoping to be here tomorrow for 5 for Friday, but just in case I don’t make it, have a great weekend! Let me know if you make any of the cookies 🙂

Do you go for massages regularly?

What other ingredients could I use in this breakfast cookie recipe? I’m thinking pumpkin!

 

Leave a Reply

