Cookies, Cookies, Cookies

Helloooo! So glad to be back! I had a crazy, fun weekend, but I really want to get right in to the day with some recipes.
I have two deliciously sinful cookie recipes to share. Here we go!

Cookies

A week ago, I knew I wanted to do some baking and bring in treats for the peeps I work with at my 2nd job at a nearby restaurant. I didn’t get around to baking until Saturday night, so I was pretty tired. One of my favorite things to bake are brownies because they are so versatile, but, the best part is is that they are in just one pan. Sometimes I don’t feel like scooping out a ton of cookies in numerous batches. I really wanted to make cookies though, so I decided to make bar cookies- the best of both worlds!

S’Mores Bars (I like to call them Angel Poopies-LOL)

Recipe from A Bakers Field Guide to Chocolate Chip Cookies by Dede Wilson

1/2 c. unsalted butter, softened

2 c. graham cracker crumbs (I used the pre-crushed kind in a box)

1 1/2 c. milk chocolate morsels

1 14 oz. can sweetened condensed milk

2 c. mini marshmallows

2/3 c. semisweet chocolate morsels

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Place butter in 9-inch square baking pan and set in oven while it preheats until butter melts. Remove from oven, add graham cracker crumbs and stir to combine well. Pat buttered crumbs into an even layer. Sprinkle milk chocolate morsels evenly over crust, then drizzle condensed milk over morsels. Bake until golden brown and bubbly, about 30 minutes. Place pan on rack to cool slightly while you preheat broiler. Adjust rack in oven close to broiler (NOTE). Sprinkle marshmallows evenly over top and broil until they are slightly browned, about two minutes, turning pan front to back at least once for even browning. Remove pan from broiler, place on rack and sprinkle chocolate chips over top. Allow to cool at least 15 minutes before cutting.

NOTE: Don’t place the rack too close to the broiler. When I was baking them, I noticed smoke coming from the oven and when I opened the door, flames busted out. The marshmallows had lit on fire! I almost had a heart attack. I’m lucky I didn’t burn my eyebrows off…haha.

I was able to scoop off the burnt marshmallows and put new ones on. Muuuuuch better 🙂

White Chocolate Raspberry Blondies

Adapted from A Bakers Field Guide to Chocolate Chip Cookies by Dede Wilson

I used the basic blondie recipe, but jazzed it up myself.

1 c. all purpose flour

Heaping 1/2 tsp. baking powder

1/8 tsp. salt

1/2 c. unsalted butter, melted

1 c. firmly packed brown sugar

1 tsp. vanilla extract

1 large egg

3/4 c. white chocolate chips

3/4 c. seedless raspberry jam

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Coat an 8 inch square baking pan with nonstick cooking spray. Whisk flour, baking powder and salt together in a small bowl. In a large bowl, whisk together melted butter and brown sugar. Whisk in vanilla, then egg, blending well. Stir in flour mixture, mixing until just blended. Make sure mixture is cool, then stir in white chocolate chips. Spread half the batter on to the bottom of the pan. Spread the jam over the batter and then top with the remaining batter. Bake until light golden brown, about 25 minutes. Cool on cooling track before cutting the bars.

Both cookies were delicious and were gobbled up by everyone at work within an hour or two. Cookie success!

Do you bring treats in to work? I like to butter people up. Heehee.

Have a great day!

2 thoughts on “Cookies, Cookies, Cookies

  1. The S’More brownies were delicious!!!! It is now Fall though and someone promised a pumpkin cheesecake. Scott and I are waiting! = )

Leave a Reply

