What Are Yucca Lookin At?

Can you believe today is the last day of Summer? I can’t. Well, I don’t want to. I’m in denial, even though it felt like Autumn when I walked out to my car; my phone said 45 degrees. Yikes!

Yesterday afternoon was beautiful here in the ‘burbs of Boston though. I had a half day at work- I needed some mental health “me” time. I just wanted to relax and rest.

Since it was so nice out, I decided to walk down to Home Goods and buy some new bath towels. It was so gorgeous out! Look at that sky. Oh how I love days like that.

 

I kept my trip short because I wanted to enjoy more time outside and then get home and relax. I bought a nice Cynthia Rowley towel. Love the cool print.

Towels and sheets are some of my favorite things to buy. I know it sounds weird, but I love the feeling of nice, soft towels after a shower and slipping in to smooth, clean sheets for bed. It’s the little things, right? 🙂

When I got home from Home Goods, I lifted weights for about 10 minutes. Not much, but it felt good. I also did some push-ups and crunches. Until I get out of my funk, these little exercises will have to do.

Dinner

So remember how I bought a new veggie over the weekend? I looked up a recipe for it and cooked up some yucca on Tuesday night.

Let me tell you a little about yucca root (from ehow.com):

Yuca is a very popular food staple in Latin America, Africa and tropical regions.  It can be used as a side dish instead of potatoes or rice. Yuca is often used in soups or stews in place of or along with potatoes. Yuca’s flesh is highly absorbent and acquires the taste of other ingredients that it is cooked with. It can be boiled, fried (after boiling or steaming), baked or grated when raw to make a variety of dishes.

And according to the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, yucca is high in calcium and contains 2 grams of fiber per 1/2 cup serving.

Score!

It started off looking like this:

But after some careful peeling and chopping, it looked like this:

It was tough to slice because it was so thick, just like a potato- so be careful! The recipe I found is similar to mashed potatoes, so I boiled the yucca first.

I also sauteed some onion with olive oil and garlic.

Smelled so good!

What was I eating with my mashed yucca? Steak! My boss gave me a giant steak from her meat CSA. Thank you, Bossypants!

Once the steak was done, I mixed the onions with the yucca and mashed them together.

Dinner Lunch is served!

With some pinot noir. Alcohol at lunch feels so wrong, but tastes so right. It went perfectly with my medium rare steak.

Overall, the yucca was delicious. I’m so glad I bought it; I think I’ll buy it again too!

Mashed Yucca (I halved this recipe)

Adapted from: Allrecipes

2 lbs yucca, peeled and slices lengthwise

1/2 tsp. salt

1/4 c. olive oil

1/2 onion, diced

4 cloves garlic

1. Place the yucca in to a pan and fill with enough water to cover. Stir in salt. Bring to a boil over medium-high heat, cover and cook until tender, about 15-20 minutes. Drain and keep yucca in pot, covered.

2. Meanwhile, place the olive oil, onion and garlic in a pan. Cook over medium heat about 5 minutes. Pour the hot olive oil mixture in to the yucca and mash.

Enjoy!

I didn’t forget about the cookie recipes I need to post- look for those tomorrow!

Have a great day.

How do you like your steak cooked?

New towels? Love ’em or could care less?

 

3 thoughts on “What Are Yucca Lookin At?

  1. The dinner looks delicious as usual! It’s great to try new foods, as if I ever do right? I’m happy that you like to branch out on the healthy foods. I look forward to seeing your cookies that you baked. I love your new towel, too! Great color!

  2. Pingback: Time Management « PJs and Yoga Pants

  3. Pingback: Five for Friday « PJs and Yoga Pants

Leave a Reply

