Five for Friday and Dinners with Friends

Hey out there. It’s been a busy, but fun week.

I first have to mention that I only worked out 3 times- so I missed my goal of 4. Damn it! But this is a new week, so I’m going to try for 4 times again.

Five for Friday

I’m going to try and bring this back!

1. Work out 4 times.

2. Run once- at this point, I’m not going to pick a distance- just run!

.

I want this shirt! It’s a cute store on Etsy called Firedaughters Clothing. Maybe I’ll use some of my restaurant money on it…it’s ok to spend money on motivational clothes, right? Hee hee.

3. Buy a veggie I’ve never bought before. I want to try something new and Whole Foods is always full of “weird” veggies. LOL

(source)

4. Make some mix cds for my friends. I have a few people who’ve been waiting for a while. I love sharing good music πŸ™‚

5. Try to drink more water- I’m slacking on this again!

What’s a goal your aiming for this week?

Dinner with Friends

On Wednesday night I made plans with my friend Kara to watch the season premiere of The X-Factor. I don’t really care about the show so much, but we were both really curious to see what Britney Spears is like as a judge. What’s she like when she talks and would she be the “nice” one?

Demi Lovato, Britney Spears, Simon Cowell, and L.A. Reid cement their place in pop culture history at the handprint ceremony at Grauman's Chinese Theatre for THE X FACTOR Season 2 premiere event on Sept. 11, 2012.

(source)

With some fancy editing, I think the producers tried to make her seem like the “mean” judge- maybe even meaner than Simon. I usually agreed with her though, but some of the contestants were totally devastated to get rejected by Britney. It was entertaining, but I still like The Voice better.

Before the show started, Kara made me a delicious dinner: breaded cod, steamed broccoli and a sweet potato. Delicious wine too!

It was awesome and very healthy! I’m a bridesmaid in Kara’s wedding in two weeks, so I need to eat healthy meals like this to make sure I fit in my dress!

Me and Kara. I have a giant head.

Thanks for dinner, Kara! πŸ™‚

Last night I tried a new recipe and I got to share it with a new friend.

Balsamic Glazed Pork Loin

from Allrecipes.com

1 lb. pork loin

1/4 c. olive oil

1/4 c. balsamic vinegar

1 tbsp seasoning mix

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees. Sprinkle the seasoning over the pork. Mix the oil and vinegar in a bowl and pour half of it on the pork. Put in the oven and after 30 minutes pour the rest of the oil and vinegar on the pork. Cook for 30 more minutes. Let it cool for 10 minutes before cutting.

The recipe recommended marinating the pork for 2 hours to overnight, but I forgot. It was still wicked delicious though!

I also roasted summer squash, zucchini and mushrooms in a little Pam with salt, pepper and dill. So good!

I unexpectedly got to share my dinner with a new friend- Sam! She is my neighbor and works at the restaurant I work at too. She brought over some wine- yay for friends and wine!

Eatin her veggies πŸ™‚

Thanks for the wine, Sam! πŸ™‚

Overall, I’m getting better at balancing two jobs and my social life. Little things like dinners in with friends after work and planning ahead is getting easier.

I’ve been stress eating a lot this week though and it’s the WORST. I never feel better after eating, just angry and guilty. I have to stop it now and start fresh today. I have leftover pork and some new veggies for lunch.

Remember to breathe. Breathe, Steph!

Hope you all have a great Friday. We made it!

Have you tried any new recipes lately? I love this Balsamic Pork Loin recipe because it was so easy and healthy. Win!

What do you like better, red or white wine? White for me, unless it’s red that’s not too dry.

 

6 thoughts on “Five for Friday and Dinners with Friends

  1. I like red wine better, unless it’s a hot day or it’s Riesling πŸ™‚

    My goal is to start some new recipes after the wedding and my new kitchen is built.

    Just keep swimming, Steph!! πŸ™‚ ❀

  2. Pingback: Five for Friday « PJs and Yoga Pants

Leave a Reply

