A Fresh Start

Good Morning! Hope your week is off to a great start. I’m determined to make this a great week because last week was definitely an “off” week for me. It started with a migraine, I slept poorly most nights, only worked out once (!) and sort of overdid it in the food department. Not a total failure, but definitely a week to bounce back from. “Off” days/weeks happen from time to time, but there’s always a new day to start fresh.

Welcome to Monday. 🙂

Workout and Lunch

To start the week off on a better note, I was determined to get up and work out. Mondays are always the hardest for me to get up and get going, but I did it. I decided to go for a run- it’s been a while! I didn’t want to just run though, I wanted to get some really good anaerobic cardio in. I decided to do some intervals of fast/sprint running and then cooling down with some brisk walking in between. I warmed up for the first half mile with brisk walking and then changed from sprints to walking for a total of two miles. I actually felt great.

Did I mention how incredibly muggy it was out? I was a sweaty mess! I turn so annoyingly red when I work out. Ugh.

For lunch today, I made an other sexy sandwich. This one is peanut butter with raspberries on Ezekiel Sesame bread. I have carrot sticks and a nectarine on the side. I’ll post a pic on Facebook later 🙂

Good start!

Six Flags

The one great part of last week was my company outing to Six Flags. The day was a muggy mess, but I kind of liked it. LOL. My boss and I went on a bunch of the rides together in the morning, then we met our coworkers for a BBQ lunch. It was delicious, but I was way too hungry to snap pictures. Plus, I didn’t want to weird anyone out while taking pictures of my food…haha.

After lunch, another co-worker and I decided to try the new roller coaster, Goliath Towers. I was totally going to wuss out, but my friends convinced me!

The roller coaster was so intense; I hadn’t been on one this scary in a long time. It shoots you up backwards to start, so you’re literally facing the ground and dangling in the air. Then it shoots out so fast and does all kinds of spins and loops. It ends with you facing straight to the sky and reverses backwards for the whole track again. I’m not going to lie, I wish I had done this ride before lunch. I loved it, but I did feel a little queasy.

My boss (lovingly referred to as Bossypants) took these pics for me for the blog:

This one isn’t my ride, but you can see how high the coaster goes and see the riders literally looking straight down! I actually can’t believe I was on it.

This is me and my coworker (I’m in the orange shirt) waving at the end. “We survived!”

You know what? Earlier I said I only worked out once last week, but I think all the walking around at  Six Flags plus the heart racing rides oughta count for something, right? 🙂

Have a happy, healthy week!

What do you do to restart your healthy habits after a bad day/week?

Tell me about the scariest ride you’ve ever been on.

4 thoughts on “A Fresh Start

  1. Sounds like a great workout, Steph, to start the week! Interval training is always beneficial to any workout, especially when you feel good….oh, and that roller coaster looked absolutely terrifying to me! You & your co-worker are a couple of brave chickadees! I’ll tell you that! What a coincidence, too, that this morning I tweeted that I was starting the week on a very positive note thanks to some great weekend reading by Orison Swett Marden! We must’ve been on the same wavelength! Hang in there and have a great week!

  2. Pingback: Birdies, Bagels and Breakfast | PJs and Yoga Pants

Leave a Reply

