Staycation Recap

Hello Everyone! I hope you all had a great 4th of July week.  I had an awesome “staycation” with my friends who were up visiting me from North Carolina. I kept wanting to blog, but I didn’t want to take any time away from Diana and Ben. It was so wonderful to see them and I’m so sad they’re back home. I wish they lived closer.

It’s not like they’re in Oregon or something, but it’s still pretty far. Our goal is to see each other at least once a year. 🙂

Recap- Part 1

This past week consisted of lots of fun, food and…fitness! I’m so proud to tell you that Diana, Ben and I all worked out while on our vacation. This is definitely the first time I’ve incorporated working out in to a vacation and it felt great. But more on that to come.

Last Tuesday, I picked Diana and Ben up and drove them in to East Boston for Belle Isle Seafood– they have the BEST, FRESHEST seafood anywhere in Boston. The food was great and so was the weather.

Fried Haddock Plate for Ben and the Fisherman’s Platter and “Lobstah” Roll for me and Diana

We ate lunch right on the harbor in Winthrop and picked out the boats we are going to buy in the future. LOL

After the walk, I drove us to my Alma Mater, UMass Boston. I wanted to show them my school because they showed me their school, Western Carolina University, which is in the mountains. I thought it was such a fun contrast that their college is in the mountains and mine is on the beach! We walked for about a mile on the Harborwalk, which passes by the JFK Library. It was gorgeous, but very warm.

July 4th

Our original plans had been to go in to the city and see the Boston Pops and the fireworks, but the forecast showed rain and we kind of just didn’t want to deal with the stress of crowds, timing, rain, etc. We ended up going shopping and made plans to stay in for the night.

Diana and I started the day with a 2 mile run. I was so proud of her because she hasn’t run in a while and she kept up with me the whole time! It was so fun to run with a friend and she was so motivating. When we got home, Ben joined us to do the Jillian Michael’s 30 Day Shred DVD. Woohoo!

Burn baby burn!

The rest of the day included shopping, drinking, eating and fireworks.

Yup, I got silly.

Taboo is the best game. The goal is to get your partner to say the word on your card, but you can’t say the most common terms to describe the word. It can be so hard to describe something like zebra, without being able to say stripes, Africa, horse or black and white. Ugh!

After the fireworks, I passed out on the couch. Haha. I was wiped.

More recaps tomorrow!

Workouts

My race is this Friday! Eek! I’m so excited and nervous at the same time. I’m planning a run tonight after work and one more on Wednesday morning or night. I definitely want to rest my legs on Thursday and I’d like to get in some strength training on Tuesday.

I’m going to try and eat as healthy as possible this week, so I’m all set for Friday night. I have tuna, hummus, fruit, veggies and almond milk in my fridge, which should do the trick 🙂

Have a great day!

Are you still in touch with faraway friends? Do you try to see them regularly?

Do you prefer working out with a friend?

2 thoughts on “Staycation Recap

  1. Pingback: Cherry Bomb: A Tequila Recipe | PJs and Yoga Pants

  2. Pingback: Changin’ Things Up « PJs and Yoga Pants

Leave a Reply

