The Hard Life

Good morning everyone. We’re having some weird weather here in the Boston area. During my twenty minute ride to work, the weather changed from sunny, to cloudy, to sunny with rain, to cloudy with rain…I couldn’t figure out whether to leave my sunglasses on or off! LOL

Food

Ok, so I have a really embarrassing tidbit of information to share. It’s bad. I, Steph, 28 years old, have no idea how to make a hard boiled egg. Yup. I’ve been trying for a couple years and they always come out lousy. Well, I FINALLY found the right way to do it! I had to ask around to many cooler smarter more experienced people (mostly my boss-thanks Jen!) and I’ve gotten the right amount of advice. Yay!

I don’t think I can be all alone, can I? There must be other people out there with the same problem. Please tell me I’m not the only one!

๐Ÿ™‚ I’m going to assume I’m not alone, so I documented the best way to make a hard boiled egg. At long last!

  1. Fill a pot with enough water to cover your eggs, put the eggs in and then, and this is important, then turn the burner on. Make sure the eggs are in there so they acclimate to the temperature change. I used to throw them in when the water was already boiling and they all cracked open. Duh!
  2. Here’s where the good stuff happens! When the eggs start to boil, leave them boiling for one minute, but then turn the burner off. Leave the pot on the burner and cover with the lid. Set a timer for 12 minutes. At this point I used to move the pot to a cool burner, but you want to keep some heat on the eggs!

    12 minutes. No more, no less.

  3. When the timer goes off, put the eggs in to a bowl of cold water with ice cubes. I always stick the bowl in the fridge too.
  4. Voila!

And there you have it. Hard boiled eggs. I hope this helps! Or was at least amusing for all you hard boiling pros out there ๐Ÿ˜‰

Lunch

I haven’t had the time to hit the grocery store, so I’m being very creative with my meals this week. It’s the time when I really search through my freezer and cabinets for the “hidden gems” waiting to be eaten up.

Lunch today is actually pretty awesome. I forgot I had some coconut shrimp from BJ’s, so I baked that up last night. Then I made microwaved brocolli (steam in the bag kind) and found some canned pineapple left over from my Pineapple Pepper Chicken slow cooker recipe. Yum!

So colorful and well-rounded. I think this is a great example of using portion control to eat just the right amount of fatty foods. The shrimp is baked, but it is coated in a coconut breading, so it must have a decent amount of calories. I’m only eating 5 though and I am not using the dipping sauce it came with; the sauce is mostly sugar. The pineappple provides the sweet flavor to compliment the shrimp.

For a snack, I have a nice hard boiled egg! ๐Ÿ™‚

Oneย  Two Last Things

While I was getting ready for work this morning, look what I found:

Hmm…where did that leg and tail come from?

I love kitties. Teeny is too cute!

And last but not least, a really lousy picture of my cute new work outfit from Marshall’s. Only $20 total for the shirt and “The Limited” brand capris!

Wish I had made my bed…

Do you like shopping at discount stores like Marhsall’s and TJ Maxx? Sometimes I find the best deals at those types of stores!

Is there a certain food or dish that you have trouble making?

9 thoughts on “The Hard Life

  1. It sounds like you got your cooking skills (or lack thereof) from yours truly – at least when it comes to boiled eggs!! ๐Ÿ™‚ Hee Hee! I love your new outfit from Marshall’s – my absolute favorite place to shop (about the only place I shop these days)!! Lunch looked pretty good, too.

  2. Pingback: A First! | PJs and Yoga Pants

Leave a Reply

