What a Beautiful Morning

Happy Sunday Friends! What a great weekend this has been. It’s been a little hectic though and I do have to admit, I started this post on Friday and then the whole day just went “Kaboom” and I never got to finish it. It’s not a bad thing though 🙂 I love being busy.

Foodie Confession

I’ll start off with a little confession. Remember my brownies from Thursday? Well, they were AMAZING. So amazing in fact that I might of accidentally eaten 6 of them at work. Yes, six. More than any of my co-workers and the birthday girl. I just couldn’t get enough. And you know what was the worst part? The brownies learned my name and kept calling me from the other room. Seriously. I was sitting at my desk, trying to make phone calls and those evil little Blondies kept saying, “Steeeeeeeeph. Come take one more. Just one more. We’re so delicious.” It really wasn’t my fault that I ate so many…Ahhhhhh!!!

Yoga

Last week I bought a Groupon for a yoga studio called Breathe Wellness. Along with yoga, they offer Reiki, Zumba, meditation and personal training. I decided to go Thursday night for their all levels class. It’s a good thing too, considering I ate 6 brownies! My GPS had a little trouble finding it, or maybe I just missed it, but when I pulled in I thought the building was just adorable.

When I walked in I was greeted by Meg and Beth, the two owners of Breathe Wellness. They were so nice and we chatted for a while about the studio and all their programs. The class itself was led by Beth and it was great. Nice stretching in the beginning and then lots of poses that seem so nice, but really pack a punch. The class was very laid back and fun too.

Here’s the beautiful studio:

On the way to the studio:

Namaste to you too, friend 🙂

Overall, it was a great experience. I can’t wait for my next class. Well, my shoulders want to wait because they were SORE! LOL

Friday

I had my first Friday off from work for my new schedule and it just happened to be a BEAUTIFUL day. Yay! Take a look outside my apartment.

There was not a single cloud in the sky. I was planning on celebrating Father’s Day with my dad by getting Chinese food and going canoeing, so before he came over I squeezed in a little workout. I call it a “10, 9, 8 Countdown” workout, but it probably has some other name in real life. LOL I picked four moves and did 10 reps of each. Then, I did the same moves in 9 reps, then 8, then 7, all the way down to 1.

Workout

Countdown from 10 to 1 of four moves”

Jumping Jacks

Squats with arm raises (I used 3 lb. weights)

Push-ups

Crunches

The great thing about this workout is that it’s so customizable, but gives me some structure. I’m so A.D.D when it comes to strength training, so this helps guide me. I think I’ll do this again soon, but add one or two more moves to make it a little more intense.

After my workout, my dad was on his way over. Unfortunately, he got called in to work for the afternoon, so we had to change our plans. I went out his way instead and we tried a new Indian buffet in Westborough. He’d never had Indian food before and I thought it would be a great way to try a little of everything. It was ok, but they only had chicken dishes and my dad had been really excited to try some lamb or seafood dishes as well. I want to take him to a different restaurant soon and order what we really want off the menu. At least we tried it though.

The best part about Friday was the purchase of my first official pair of running shoes! Woohoo! I went to PR Running in Westborough- such a good decision. Everyone was wicked friendly and the guy helping me was playing The Ramones the whole time I was in there. I love them! He also had me run outside so that he could perform a Gait Analysis, to see how my feet land when I run and walk. Luckily, my feet land straight on, not to the inside or outside of my feet. He helped fit me for some shoes and I ended up with a pair of Asics Gel-Cumulus 13’s. They feel great and were on sale too. Yippee!

I feel so cool and official now. 🙂 But it’s crazy how SMALL running shoe sizes go. I’m always a size 8 and my Asics are 9 1/2! What? Craziness.

Saturday

Yesterday I went for my first run/walk in them. I felt great. I went two miles in 21 minutes. Not too bad considering I walked for some of the way. The difference between wearing my cross-trainers vs. my Asics was incredible. These babies are meant to run. Yay!

My boss, who runs and recommended PR Running to me, texted me yesterday morning and said, “Run like the wind in your new sneakers.”  Aww. That’s my goal! 🙂

Ok, have a nice Sunday and I’ll be back tomorrow.

What brand of running shoes do you prefer?

Do you like Groupon and other coupon sites like it? I love Groupon and Living Social Deals. I would be absolutely broke if I bought every deal I wanted. Haha.

 

 

4 thoughts on “What a Beautiful Morning

  1. Pingback: New Food Review and a Great Run | PJs and Yoga Pants

  2. Pingback: Feelin the Love | PJs and Yoga Pants

Leave a Reply

