Curried Sweet Potato Lentil Stew

Hello Everyone!

How was your weekend? Mine was busy and full of good drinks and good friends, but not much exercising. Bad Steph. I have an excuse though! Her name is Teeny Tina.

Look how sweet she is during the day? She liked my dad when my parents came by on Mother’s Day. Teeny is a really awesome cat. But, by night, she is a nightmare! She just wants me to be awake. She claws on my door, whether she’s in or outside my room. She runs laps around my room, starting on my pillows and she jumps on me. She knocks anything and everything off my bureaus. I have not gotten a good night’s sleep in a couple of weeks; she’s getting worse 😦 It’s so hard to get up at 5am when I’ve been woken up every hour on the hour all night. This has to stop. I will not let a cat (even a cat I love) ruin my workout routine and very important sleep. And, you should be able to tell by the name of my blog just how important sleep is to me.

I went on Amazon yesterday and ordered this for her:

It’s a two-tier kitty condo. At night I’m going to start putting her in this, along with her food and litter box. I hope it goes well, but her behavior calls for drastic measures! Aaahhhhhhh!!!

Sunday

Sunday is grocery shopping day, and since I was up bright early (thanks to Teeny) I decided to get to Trader Joes before the crowds. I had looked up a recipe to make for my lunches this week and I was able to find most of the ingredients there. I did stop at Whole Foods as well for a few items TJ’s didn’t have.

I wanted to make something in my slow-cooker again because it’s so easy and makes a nice big batch. Good in my tummy and good on my wallet.

I went to a site I like, Eat Better America, and found a recipe for Curried Sweet Potato Lentil Stew. The site has lots of great, healthy recipes and ideas for healthy living. It’s run by General Mills, but the info and recipes are very good.

Curried Sweet Potato Lentil Stew

3 cups sweet potato pieces- I used 3 sweet potatoes
1 1/2 cups baby carrots
1 small onion, finely chopped (1/4 cup)
3/4 cup dried lentils, sorted, rinsed
2 teaspoons olive or vegetable oil
1 tablespoon curry powder
1 teaspoon ground cumin- I forgot to buy this, but I thought the recipe was still delicious
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/4 teaspoon pepper
1 teaspoon finely chopped gingerroot- I used ground ginger because I already own that
1 clove garlic, finely chopped- I used minced from a jar
1 can (14 oz) vegetable broth
2 cups frozen cut green beans (from 1-lb bag), thawed
1/2 cup Yoplait® plain fat-free yogurt- didn’t use this

Neither Trader Joes or Whole Foods sold the low sodium vegetable broth in the 14 oz. cans, so I had to buy the big 32 oz. container; I was distracted while I measured the broth and didn’t put enough in. I think that’s why my stew is very thick and not liquidy at all. Make sure to pay attention while pouring in the broth 🙂

I want to look up more recipes that use Curry Powder because now I have  a whole jar of it in my cabinet. In fact, I have so many seasonings that I’ve only used once or twice that I might start looking up recipes by seasoning…I need to clean my cabinet out a little bit. LOL

Do you have some favorite spices you use when you cook?

3 cups of sweet potatoes

Sweet potatoes, carrots and onion in the slow cooker.

Delicious!

3 thoughts on “Curried Sweet Potato Lentil Stew

  1. Pingback: Summer Lentil Salad | PJs and Yoga Pants

Leave a Reply

