A Picture is Worth a Thousand Words

If a picture is worth a thousand words, then being able to see and snap said picture with JUST my own eyes is worth a million words.

After waiting in the TLC Laser Center office for 4.5 hours last Thursday night, I was finally taken in for the procedure. A discussion with the surgeon and one Valium later, I was ready to go at 6:30. The procedure itself is painless, but kind of trippy. I was laying down on a bed that rotated left and right and was repeatedly (and I mean many, many times) told to look at the blinking light. You don’t actually see the laser, you just hear it clicking. I think it only took about 10 minutes in total. I left and put drops inΒ  my eyes for the rest of the night and passed out around 9 pm. I woke up on Friday morning…and I could see! Everything in the room around me was bold and visible.

A few hours later my mom drove me to my 1-day follow up appointment to make sure I was healing well. I did the eye exam and found out my left eye is 20/20 vision and my right eye is an even better 20/15! I could read the bottom line of letters on the eye chart. I still can’t believe it.

I have to take it easy for a week, so my Memorial Day weekend was mostly uneventful. I didn’t go on the computer (hence no posts) and I didn’t do any reading, in order to let my eyes rest. I hung out with friends and took a lot of naps. LOL. A really awesome weekend if you ask me! πŸ™‚

Here I am on my first glasses/contacts free drive! Like my cool, doctor-provided sunglasses? Haha.

On Saturday I saw this little dude on the way to my car and he wasn’t the least bit scared of me.

Mmm…grass is yummy.

It was a gorgeous weekend, but I stayed inside for most of it because the pollen is ridiculously awful outside. I didn’t want to risk getting “allergy eyes” while I was still healing. I mean, every car in the parking lot was green. Yuck.

On Saturday night my friend Steph drove out to see me to check out my new eyes. We went and got frozen yogurt at Red Mango, but I forgot to snap pictures. Mine had strawberries and M&M Minis and hers had strawberries, M&M Minis and Captain Crunch cereal. Mmm! When we were done with our yogurt, we decided that celebratory drinks were in order.

We headed over to the Cheesecake Factory and amazingly found two seats at the bar. Destiny? I think so. There’s a new, great “Skinny” menu at Cheesecake, so we ordered the Skinny Long Island Iced Teas and they were delicious!

So delicious! The only bad part of the night is that the bartender cut us off after two drinks. Two. We were by no means drunk or disorderly. Eventually, she let us order a third, but then it was time to go. Great night and good drinks!

On Monday, my dad and I went and saw Dark Shadows; my first post-Lasik movie theater experience. I see halos around some lights, but overall the movie looked nice and clear. It was wicked funny too. I totally recommend it. I don’t think it’s much like the show though, so don’t go if you loved the original and only the original show. Tim Burton and Johnny Depp worked together on Sleepy Hollow a few years ago and this movie had a similar, creepy yet funny vibe to it.

After the movie we went to Subway and tried their new Smokehouse BBQ Chicken sub and it was delicious. Reminds me of BBQ pulled chicken. A 6 inch has 380 calories, but we did add some shredded cheese, so it was a little over 400 calories. Still not bad overall! I’ve been trying really hard to eat well since my surgery, since I can’t counterbalance my calorie intake with workouts. I haven’t done the best job, but I haven’t been too bad either.

Okay, so you all know how much I love Whole Living magazine, right? I follow them on Facebook (where you can also follow me) and I go to their website all the time. Last week they posted a recipe for “Naturally Sweet Dark Chocolate Banana Bread.” I knew I had to make it…and much to my roommates enjoyment, I did!

This banana bread is great because like the title says, it’s naturally sweet. Maple syrup and unsweetened applesauce make it sweet and moist without adding lots of calories. Dark chocolate is healthier and has less sugar than milk chocolate, so that was a delicious addition as well.

Here are the bananas with all the liquid ingredients: almond milk, olive oil, applesauce, vanilla and maple syrup.

The recipe also called for whole wheat pastry flour. I was excited because I have a big bag of it and I’ve only used it in one recipe so far. Bob’s Red Mill makes some of the best and healthiest baking products.

Here’s the amazing finished bread. It smelled so good that Em and I almost died waiting for it to cool down.

We dug right in! Look at the chocolate and pecans!

Can you tell food and drinks make me happy? LOL

Naturally Sweet Dark Chocolate Banana Bread (from WholeLiving.com)

1/4 c milk (I used almond milk, which made the recipe vegan)

3 tbsp olive oil

1/4 c unsweetened applesauce

1/3 c real maple syrup

1 tsp vanilla extract

4 ripe bananas

2 c whole wheat pastry flour

1 tsp baking soda

1 tsp baking powder

1/2 tsp sea salt (which I’m just realizing I forgot to add! It still tasted good)Β  πŸ™‚

1/2 c finely chopped nuts and seeds (I used pecans because that’s what I had in my cabinet)

3/4 c chopped dark chocolate bar

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Grease loaf pan.

2. Blend the milk, oil, applesauce, maple syrup, vanilla and bananas in a blender until smooth. (I used my stand mixer and it was fine)

3. In a large bowl, combine dry ingredients. Add banana mixture and fold until just combined. Fold in nuts and chocolate, if using. Pour into loaf pan and smooth the top with a spatula.

4. Bake until a toothpick inserted in to the center come out clean, about 45 minutes. Let cool about 10 minutes (the hardest part!) before gently removing it from the pan. Let cool at least another 15 minutes before slicing.

Very easy to make and it’s delicious and healthy. I had it for breakfast yesterday morning and I think I’ll have it again and add some peanut butter on top. Mmm!

Thanks for reading my very long post. I’m very excited about my eyes, but I can’t wait to get back to my routine.

I hope you all had a wonderful Memorial Day weekend and thank you to all the heroes who fought for our country.

8 thoughts on “A Picture is Worth a Thousand Words

  1. Yay for new eyes!

    I highly recommend that banana bread! I couldn’t wait to have more yesterday. I have the best roommate and blogger πŸ™‚

  2. Pingback: What Does It All Mean? | PJs and Yoga Pants

  3. Pingback: Wheatgrass Smoothie | PJs and Yoga Pants

Leave a Reply

