Fish and Tacos, but Not Fish Tacos

Monday, Monday…

Isn’t that a song? ๐Ÿ™‚

I hope you all had a great weekend. Mine was pretty good. Friday night was a total wash because of my eyes (In case you missed the news, I’m getting Lasik surgery this week and had to get one last, big dilation Friday afternoon). Wow, you should’ve SEEN how big my pupils were. I looked like a crazy person! Not too far from the truth I guess ๐Ÿ˜‰

On Saturday, my eyes were still dilated (I knew this was a possibility). They weren’t as big, but reading was still difficult and I was extremely light sensitive. Saturday was gorgeous and sunny too, but I couldn’t really enjoy it. I looked out my window though and that was enough ๐Ÿ™‚

My roomie and I met up with one of her friends and a big group of people Saturday night at a cool restaurant in Boston, Barking Crab. It’s right on the ocean. The night was beautiful and smelled like salt water. I love the ocean.

Thank you, Em, for this pic. Isn’t this sight beautiful? No stars, but no clouds either.

While waiting for a table, we drank Shocktop Raspberry, which was surprisingly delicious. I’m not always a fan of fruit flavored beers, but this one was perfect for a summer-like night.

Dinner was an order of crab cakes and some oysters. Em and I shared, but we may have stolen left-over fries and fish from others at our table when they kindly offered. Who could turn down fried clams and french fries? ๐Ÿ˜‰

You can thank Em again for this pic; I was a very bad blogger and didn’t get any pics. You can just see our crab cakes on the left, our first plate of oysters and a Shocktop Raspberry on the right. Delicious night! I can’t wait to go back there. The atmosphere was loud and fun and there was live music. I love live music.

Pineapple Salsa Tacos

Last night I set up a meal in my slow cooker and boy am I excited to try it. I did a variation of the Chicken Tacos I made last month; this time I used pineapple salsa from Trader Joe’s.

6 chicken breasts (about 1 1/2 lbs)

Packet taco seasoning

Jar of Trader Joe’s Pineapple Salsa

Spray the bottom of a slow cooker with non-stick spray. Put the chicken in the pot. Sprinkle the taco seasoning on and then pour the salsa on top of the chicken. Cook on low for 6 hours.

There was a ton of taco mix in the little packet, so I only used about half.

This is what everything looked like in the slow cooker. Mmm…it started to smell good right away.

This morning, I shredded up the chicken. It pulled apart so easily because it is so moist from the salsa.

I snuck a couple of bites and it tasted delicious. I can’t wait to try it for dinner tonight!

Enjoy your day!

Are there any good seafood restaurants near you?

Do you like different flavors of salsa, like the pineapple kind I used?

 

3 thoughts on “Fish and Tacos, but Not Fish Tacos

  1. “Monday…Monday” by the Mamas and the Papas ๐Ÿ™‚

    Great pics ๐Ÿ˜‰

    That chicken smelled soooooooooo good this morning!!

  2. Pingback: Fridge Food | PJs and Yoga Pants

Leave a Reply

