Not So Chocolate Cookies

Good morning from a sunny, 57 degree Boston! It’s going to be a beautiful day. I’m hoping to take a walk at lunch with some of my work friends (that means YOU Chrissy!) 😉

I’ll admit that I’m a “fair-weather” outdoor work-outer. LOL. I won’t go walking or boot-camping in the rain. Nope- I don’t wanna. I always try to take advantage of the outdoors when it’s nice out though. If the weather will stay like this for a while, I won’t have to rely on my DVDs so much.

Getting a walk in during your lunch break at work has so many benefits:

  1. Wakes you up- sometimes when I’m sitting at my desk for hours at a time makes me drag. Getting out in the sun and getting my heart pumping wakes me up.
  2. Fun time- you can either walk with a nice co-worker or walk alone and listen to music. Both make me happy.
  3. Burn some calories-any exercise is better than just sitting. My friend Chrissy and I try to walk up the hills around our work to make the workout a little more intense.
  4. Vitamin D- the body photosynthesizes vitamin d from the sun (some scientific process- haha); it’s beneficial for bone health and for boosting the immune system.

Now, why wouldn’t you go for a walk during your lunch break? 🙂

Cookies

I love baking. You must know this about me by now. I’ll take any excuse to bake, really. One of my co-workers had a birthday last week, so I decided to make him cookies this week. He requested White Chocolate Macadamia Nut cookies. Not one of my favorites because white chocolate is not really chocolate. I like cocoa in my treats. They got rave reviews at work though!

White Chocolate Chip Macadamia Nut Cookies (allrecipes.com recipe III)

1 c. butter , softened

3/4 c. packed light brown sugar

1/2 c. white sugar

2 eggs

1/2 tsp. vanilla extract

1/2 tsp. of almond extract

2 1/2 c. all purpose flour

1 tsp. baking soda

1/2 tsp. salt

1 c. macadamia nuts

1 c. white chocolate chips

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 450 degrees
  2. In a large bowl, cream together the butter, brown sugar and white sugar until smooth. Beat in the egss, one at a time, then stir in the vanilla and almond extracts. Combine the flour, baking soda and salt; gradually stir into the creamed mixture. Mix in the nuts and chips. Drop by teaspoonfuls onto an ungreased cookie sheet.
  3. Bake for 10 minutes or until golden brown.

My choice of chips. I have the Reese’s chips there because I put a small amount of the batter aside to make some peanut butter chip cookies for my friend (Chrissy again!) who doesn’t like white chocolate chips.

Here’s a trick I read somewhere a long time ago and always use- when you’re going to put eggs in to a a mix of ingredients, break the egg in to a separate bowl first. Every once in a while you’ll get a bad egg. My aunt recently broke an egg open in to a frying pan and a whole other egg was in side of it. Like, shell and everything. Gross. It’s good to use a different bowl to make sure you don’t ruin your batter with a bad egg.

I always listen to music when I bake. This time I listened to The Papercut Chronicles II by Gym Class Heroes. I ❤ this album.

I’ve never used almond extract before. It’s pricey. There was an artificial almond extract for half the price, but I just couldn’t buy it. Who wants artificial anything? Yuck.

First trays out of the oven. They smelled amazing. (Tasted amazing too- for white chocolate.)  😉

Hmm, I wonder which cookie is for the birthday boy??

That’s a big cookie!

While I was baking, Teeny was keeping busy by licking the rain water off my umbrella. Who needs catnip when you can have rain water?

What a little weirdo. Hee hee.

Have a great day!!!

3 thoughts on “Not So Chocolate Cookies

  1. Pingback: Feelin the Love | PJs and Yoga Pants

Leave a Reply

