Workin for the Weekend

Hi Everyone!

What a fun weekend. I ended up not feeling well on Friday, but made up for it over the weekend.

My parents picked me up at 8:30 on Saturday morning, which is actually really late for a day out with my parents. LOL. I’m more used to 7 AM with them! I still didn’t have it in me to work out before they picked me up though, so I was hoping to fit a workout in later.

We drove in to Winthrop to see my Grampy, who actually looked very good considering he is ill. We chatted about all sorts of things, but somehow the topic kept coming back to seafood. By the time we left, I needed to eat seafood or I was going to freak out. Haha. After some debate, the three of us decided to stop at Bell Isle Seafood. It’s right on the border of East Boston and Winthrop and is the best seafood restaurant in Boston. Hands down. It’s rinky-dink, with only a few seats inside, but the food is as fresh as can be. They’re right on the ocean! (Sorry about the little pics- they’re from my phone).

Best seafood everrrr!

Winthrop, MA

As you can tell, the weather had not improved since Thursday. Still dreary. You know what cheered me up though? This!

Clam Roll!

This amazing clam roll with onion rings. Oh it was soooo good. I didn’t eat all the food because it was a little heavy for 11 AM…umm… 🙂

When I got home, I did my Jillian Michael’s DVD, but it wasn’t a great workout. I think I was just too full from lunch, so I ended up with major cramps. The jumping jacks were so painful. I powered through what I could and that is better than nothing, right? 🙂

After the workout, it was time to baaaaake! Want to know what I made??

My roomie, Em, loves coconut, so I knew I had to make her some sort of coconut cake. Holy moly, this cake was AMAZING!!! Like, it had no chocolate in it and I wanted to eat it all. Also, she’s sort of in love with the color coral right now, so I dyed the cake coral! Plain old white would’ve been way too boring. Ariel says “hi!”

And of course, there had to be chocolate! I made Turtle Brownies!

Chocolate brownie, walnuts and caramel sauce.

This was the last, lonely brownie left on Sunday morning.

As far as food went, I tried not to over-indulge. I finally tried Pigs in a Blanket and they were so tasty. I definitely had cake and a brownie (or two). You have to eat some treats sometimes and I don’t feel like I went nuts. Just the right amount.

Coconut Cream Cake (adapated from Coconut Cream Cake I on allrecipes.com)

1 18.25 oz box of white cake mix

3 eggs

1 c. water

1/3 c. vegetable oil

1 can Coco Lopez coconut cream

1 c. heavy whipping cream

1 tbsp sugar

1 c. flaked coconut (I totally used more!)

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees and grease a 9″ x 13″ pan
  2. In a large bowl, mix the cake mix, eggs, oil, 1/2 c. of flaked coconut and water. (Note- the original recipe called for coconut extract too, but I could only find artificial coconut extract and it was really expensive, so I decided to leave it out). Beat for two minutes and pour in to the pan. Bake for 30 minutes.
  3. When you take the cake out of the oven, poke holes all over it with a chopstick or a spoon handle and pour the Coco Lopez all over it. (Note #2, do not put the Coco Lopez in the fridge. It solidifies. Fun.)
  4. Put the cake in the fridge for a few hours or overnight.
  5. In a large bowl, whisk the whipping cream until peaks form. Spread over the cooled cake. Cover with coconut.

Feel free to dye the cake a fun color too! Color is more fun 🙂

Mad Men Party

Well you saw how my goodies came out for the party, but do you want to know how my hair came out? Well, not as bad as this, but not great either.

60’s girls

After many, many, many attempts to fix my awful self- blowout, my hair ended up in a pony tail. Oh well- at least I tried to blow it out straight! Look at Em’s beehive ‘do!

Smoky eyes and a Mai Tai. Hi Dani!

Em and I went for a nice long walk on Sunday afternoon. The sun finally came out. I didn’t get any pics though, of course. It felt good to be in the sun and walk off some of the drinks from the night before.

What a great weekend!

Have you ever hosted a themed party? Em and I hosted an Iron Chef party back in March and that was so fun.

One thought on “Workin for the Weekend

Leave a Reply

