Nacho Night Gone Wild!

Happy Marathon Monday! If you live in MA or are just a fan of marathons, then you know what I’m talking about. In Massachusetts, the third Monday of April is a holiday, Patrtiot’s Day, and it’s also the day of the Boston Marathon. It’s a BIG deal around here. Unfortunately, my company is headquartered in Michigan, so I don’t have the day off. 😦

The weather is supposed to hit 88 degrees today, which is WAY too hot for a marathon. I hope all the runners are okay!

In other news, in case you didn’t guess, I treated my friend Kara to a chicken nacho night on friday. The two mystery ingredients were salsa and a packet of taco seasoning. The chicken was sooooo easy to make. It was delicious with a bottle of red wine that Kara brought over from Trader Joe’s.

 

Nacho heaven

 

 The meal really was pretty healthy too. I used organic chicken breasts, baked tortilla chips, fat-free salsa and reduced fat cheese. Even had lettuce and tomato on top 🙂

Someone wanted nachos too.

Where's my plate?

Kara, say “nacho cheese!” 

Yum!

Mmm!

Slow-cooker Taco Chicken (recipe from TastyKitchen.com)

1 envelope taco seasoning

6 chicken breasts (I bought 3 big ones that equalled 1 1/2 lbs)

1 16 oz. jar of salsa (you probably only need about 3/4 of the jar)

Put the chicken in the slow cooker. Pour the taco seasoning on top and then pour the salsa on top of that. Stir it a little bit. Cook on high for 4 to 6 hours or on low for 6 to 8 hours. When it’s done, shred the chicken with two forks and serve on chips, taco shells, salad or how ever you like!

I cooked mine for 8 hours on low while I was at work. My apartment smelled awesome when I got home!

On Saturday, I went out with my grandma for a belated birthday date (thanks Frammy!). We got pedicures and then ate lunch at a delicious Chinese restaurant, Mandarin. We had the lunch buffet and it was to. die. for. Not greasy at all- very fresh and lots of choices.

Buffet’s usually scare me, but I went in and just kept thinking that I didn’t want to overdo it. No need to gain 10 lbs in one sitting. I followed all of the usual advise for managing buffets and it really seemed to work:

  1. Have a cup of soup to start. Egg drop soup (yum) is only about 70 calories for a cup.
  2. Load up on the healthy/low-cal food. I tried to fill my plate with veggies and non-fried food like the shrimp and pineapple dish and the Chinese Broccoli.
  3. Only eat the good stuff. Don’t just put any and all of the food on your plate just because it’s there. Pick and chose the best food. I did have one Crab Rangoon and one chicken wing because I love those, but I skipped the sweet and sour chicken and fried rice because those aren’t my faves.

I was definintely full when I left, but I don’t think I over-did it. Big improvements Steph! 🙂 (I like to cheer myself on).

Yesterday, I just relaxed and went to bed by 8:30. So lame! Haha. Hope your week is off to a great start. So how do you handle buffets?Do you like red or white wine? I usually prefer white, but the pinot noir was pretty tasty.

6 thoughts on “Nacho Night Gone Wild!

  1. Pingback: Fish and Tacos, but Not Fish Tacos | PJs and Yoga Pants

  2. Pingback: What Does It All Mean? | PJs and Yoga Pants

  3. Pingback: Wheatgrass Smoothie | PJs and Yoga Pants

  4. Pingback: Feelin the Burn « PJs and Yoga Pants

Leave a Reply

