Sweet Sunny Sunday

On Sunday, I did a ROCKIN workout. I have to figure out how to get some pictures to show you. The weather was amazing, so I was excited to go to the high school track near me and work out. When I got there, it was Lacrosse game day- what the heck? Kids should not be at school on Sundays. Instead of using the track and football field, I found an older soccer field further down behind the school. It worked well, but it’s nice to have the yard lines of the football field for measuring/counts.

I did three rounds of this circuit (and it was HARD). There were some lines drawn on the field and I think they were about 25 yards apart:

*From one line to the next and back (approx. 50 yards total each circuit)

Lunges*

10 Push-ups

Jump-squats (sometimes I call the froggy jumps- LOL)*

Criss-cross sit-ups

Scissors

50 Jumping Jacks

So I did this circuit 3 times in a row-ouch!. It was so nice in the sun and 70 degree weather, but the jump-squats still really killed me. Felt great though!

When I got home from my workout I showered, took a nap and then…broke out my new Kitchen Aid Stand Mixer! Click if you missed my original post 🙂

Mmm...cookies...mmm

Those cookies are Chewy Coconut Lime Sugar Cookies, but I think a better name would be Tropical Snickerdoodles. They totally remind me of Snickerdoodles because they’re rolled in sugar, but they’re fruity! LOL

Coconut Lime Sugar Cookies (from My Baking Addiction)

Ingredients
2 3/4 cups all-purpose flour
1 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon baking powder
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 cup butter, softened
1 1/2 cups white sugar
1 egg
1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
Zest of one large lime, finely minced
3 tbsp lime juice
½ cup unsweetened toasted coconut
1/2 cup sugar for rolling cookies

Notice the mixer 🙂

Directions
1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Line cookie sheets with parchment paper. To toast the coconut, put a layer of coconut on a cookie sheet and bake it at 350 degrees for 4-6 minutes. (Mine turned out like this in only 4 minutes!)

Toasted Coconut- watch it close or it will burn

2. In a small bowl, stir together flour, baking soda, baking powder and salt. Set aside.
3. Using a mixer, beat together the butter and sugar until smooth and very fluffy.
4. Beat in egg, vanilla extract, lime juice and lime zest.

Squeeze that lime!

5. Gradually blend in the dry ingredients and toasted coconut.
6. Roll rounded teaspoonfuls of dough into balls, and roll in sugar. Place on lined cookie sheets about 1 1/2 inches apart. I made mine too big and they ran together. These do spread quite a bit.

Doughballs

7. Bake 8 to 10 minutes in the preheated oven, or until lightly browned.
8. Let stand on cookie sheet two minutes before removing to cool on wire racks.

Ta Da!

These cookies are SO delicious! I brought them in to work yesterday and they were a huge hit. The lime and coconut are not overpowering and they are so chewy and moist.

Depending on the weather when I get out of work, I’m either going to yoga or doing another circuit workout.

Lata!

2 thoughts on “Sweet Sunny Sunday

  1. Pingback: Feelin the Love | PJs and Yoga Pants

Leave a Reply

